A review on Perodua VIVA

I was looking thru the Star onlinde & found this article. Good to read and I must say that its a handy car to drive around in town.

Compact, easy to park and fuel economy are the main characteristics of this vehicle.

Test drive 1 today!

from The Star Online :

Carry on, Viva

audee@thestar.com.my

There were definitely pangs of sadness when Sophie – my faithful Perodua Kelisa – and I parted more than a year back.

Although I did not shed any tears, the thought of ending a four-year relationship still leaves me sad.

Small wonder: The zippy spirit lives on in the latest of Perodua’s offering. – ANDREW FERNANDEZ / The Star

Especially when I think of all the good and bad times we went through together before I sold her off.

Bad included the many bangs that she endured in the time I owned her and good was when she brought me everywhere in great time.

Sophie was one good car to zip around city streets and highways on.

Yes, I was laughed at many times when I gushed about Sophie (‘it’s only a Kelisa’ was the main comeback line from friends) but to me, she was comfortable enough to bring places.

Room above and below to wriggle about even for this 5’ 7” gentleman.

Whether it was a short drive to pick friends up or going all the way to Johor Baru for an assignment, she was always up to the task.

Besides, of course, the joys of parking her easily in cramped spaces.

And yes, it could fit five adults and one child. Whether it was comfortable or not, it always kept mom quiet about the air-conditioning.

Besides, the baby was a fuel sipper. An important point in this day and age when prices are up.

And now, Perodua has gone one step forward. My dear Sophie is being replaced with the Viva by the powers that be at the manufacturers known to churn out compact and affordable cars.

So, I was naturally very excited when given the chance to check out the new Perodua model.

The Perodua brand has been a mainstay in my family seeing how my parents have Jack (that’s the Kancil) and now there is Ding-Ding (that would be my few months old Myvi).

Now, while Sophie had me feeling wicked and mischievous most of the times I drove her, Ding-Ding somehow has me subconsciously driving at a slightly slower pace.

Plus, it does not help that my new car simply cannot rev it up the way the old Kelisa could.

Anyway, it was the 1,000cc auto version of the Viva that I got acquainted with.

At first glance, the Viva clearly has the Myvi DNA but as Peroduas go, this is more like the diet version of that car.

That’s not necessarily a bad thing. As with all things that are smaller, it sips less fuel.

But what I felt, I liked. It was zippy and brought out the impish glee I felt every time I drove my old Kelisa.

And it felt more stable and assured, even at speeds of 130kph.

One sits quite high in the driver’s seat and enjoys good frontal visibility.

This was Sophie on steroids (by default because of its larger size) and yet managing to keep the “naughty” character. And of course, with many additional goodies.

With its “practical-spacious-compact” selling point, the maker of this new baby promises a complete package.

Meant to be an entry-level car, there is a whole lot more space than the Kancil and Kelisa.

The interior length compared to the Kancil is increased from 1,710mm to 1,845mm while the width is wider from 1,185mm to 1,300mm.

One sits quite high in the driver’s seat and enjoys good frontal visibility.

The tailgate swings high and the rear seat folds down for extra space.

The front seats are quite well contoured, giving good back support and do a decent job of hugging you around corners.

Rear legroom is certainly generous for a 1.0 litre car.

Perodua says five adults can be seated although four would be much more comfortable.

Interior fit and finish are to your usual Perodua standards.

Another selling point is that the doors can be opened up to 90 degrees – a plus point when loading and unloading big items.

The rear seat folds down for more luggage space.Another first for the 1,000cc only is that the driver can raise his seat height by 45mm. Great for vertically challenged drivers who need just that extra push to see more of the road.

Oh, and I can safely say that I love the side mirrors which retract at the touch of a button(1,000cc premium model only).

When it comes to the engine, the Viva is powered by three cylinders and 12 valves.

It is enhanced by dynamic variable valve timing (DVVT), double overhead camshaft (DOHC) and electronic fuel injection (EFI).

Maximum power for the Viva is 35kW @7,200 rpm, 39kW @6,000 rpm and 45kW @6,000rpm for the 660cc, 850cc and 1,000cc respectively.

Anti-lock Braking System (ABS) and Electronic Brakeforce Distribution (EBD) are available in the 1,000cc premium version, as with driver and front passenger airbags.

At the time this article was being written, the writer has hardly seen a Viva on the road.

But it will be just a matter of time before Malaysians find one at every turn, straight, highway and parking lot.

  • On-the-road with insurance prices range from RM28,400 for entry level 660cc solid-colour manual Viva to RM44,200 for the premium 1.0-litre metallic automatic variant.
  • Advertisements
    Comments
    2 Responses to “A review on Perodua VIVA”
    1. indika says:

      can anyone please give the feed back of new 2010 VIVA ELITE ezi model.

    2. Thank you for making sense of this subject matter. I was getting confused with other information I was finding. You write in an intelligent way.

    Leave a Reply

