April 2008

For the last 2 weeks of April, I was in the land of Brunei Darussalam. It was my first trip to Brunei & I was there on to assist in some training work to expose secondary school students on the ideas & techniques pertaining to accelerated learning and mind mapping.

The trip was made possible by the invitation of Pn Muhaini’s old friend from her student days who now is a director with the Ministry of Education, Brunei Darussalam.

The experience for me was very interesting and an experience that shall assist me to learn more about  the various approaches involved in education and also new cultures that I have come to encounter during this nearly 2 week visit.

We had the opportunity to conduct training in 3 different schools over a 12 day period (with a few breaks in between). The medium of instruction was English and I must say that to some extent, the students English was considered above average.

Being in school more than a decade ago, it reminds me of a time when we really are unsure of what we will become in life, what really happens after school and maybe that curious question that all parents dread to answer : if the working life & the job market is not what it used to be today, why do we have to go to school anyway ?

I took about 1,000 pics of the trip & events so you can view them on my flickr page : http://www.flickr.com/photos/drnaz

Leave a Reply

